I discovered what Windows “Reset this PC” truly retains, and it’s not what I anticipated

Resetting a Windows PC isn’t as sophisticated because it was, largely as a result of Microsoft offers you some flexibility right here. You can both reset the PC while keeping your data, or take away every part and begin with a clear slate.
Broadly, these are two simple decisions, however every one works a little bit in a different way. They additionally include a number of further toggles that change precisely what will get deleted alongside the best way.
“Keep my information” doesn’t hold every part
It’s the protected wager
Let’s begin with the most secure possibility. The “Keep my information” possibility doesn’t contact your private information, like paperwork, pictures, movies, archives, and different folders. All of that is still unaffected. What it does take away is all of your apps and system settings. That means your lock display preferences, taskbar customization, registry tweaks you made, or something tweaked with apps like PowerToys — it’s all set to the default. Your apps like Chrome, Steam, Photoshop, 7-Zip, and Roblox are eliminated too. So, should you have been beforehand going through a problem as a consequence of one in every of your apps, this could care for it.
So sure, this selection is extra like a refresh than an entire reinstall. The solely factor is that you just’ll must reinstall your apps once more. But you may make that bit straightforward. Instead of putting in apps one after the other, use a tool like UniGetUI to export the list of apps and programs. After the reset, you’ll be able to set up your apps in a single go.
Once you’ve chosen Keep my information, you’ll want to choose the way you need to reinstall Windows, whether or not you need to use the copy that’s already in your PC and obtain a brand new one. The obtain possibility takes extra time, however that’s the one you need to select when you’ve got time. This will care for any corrupted or lacking information that may be inflicting issues together with your system.
After you’ve selected that, you’ll see a Change settings possibility that permits you to restore preinstalled apps. You can allow this selection to reinstall something your producer included whenever you first bought your PC. This might be antivirus software program that got here preinstalled or producer instruments for updating the drivers and tweaking the efficiency.
“Remove every part” offers you a clear slate
No exceptions right here
This does precisely what you suppose. It removes every part out of your PC, together with your apps, settings, and private information. It offers you a clear slate and is almost definitely to repair nearly each difficulty. This makes it best if you wish to begin over or if “Keep my information” didn’t repair your downside.
If you’re doing this reset to sell your PC or give it away, there’s another possibility you want to take note of. After you’ve chosen how Windows ought to be reinstalled, both utilizing the native copy or downloading a recent one from the cloud, you’ll want to choose the Clean information possibility. This makes it nearly unimaginable for even a knowledge restoration software to revive earlier information after the reset, which is strictly what you need should you’re not planning to maintain the machine.
Note that the clear information possibility would possibly take longer, as it is going to take time to clear every part. But it’s undoubtedly price it, as a result of you’ll be able to relaxation straightforward understanding that each one your private information is gone for good.
Whatever you select, hold your BitLocker key useful
The one prep step
No matter what possibility you select, be aware down the BitLocker restoration key earlier than you begin something. Windows makes use of machine encryption by default on PCs shipped with 24H2 or later, so there’s a great likelihood that your drive is already encrypted. You can verify this by going to Settings > Privacy & safety > Device encryption.
An encryption secret is clearly not wanted if the drive is unencrypted. But should you see the drive marked as encrypted, you’ll find the important thing within the recovery section on Microsoft’s website. Here, signal into the Microsoft account that you just’re utilizing in your PC, and also you’ll discover the restoration key in your laptop computer. If it’s a piece or college account, you’ll must contact the IT admin for this.
Besides the restoration key, you must also hold your Microsoft account credentials useful. You’ll want them after the reset, until you’re planning to promote the PC. Signing into your Microsoft account will deliver again saved Wi-Fi networks, passwords, personalization settings, and language preferences, in order that’s one much less factor to fret about for you.
One final be aware…
This goes with out saying, however resetting your PC isn’t one thing you need to do with out backing up your data. Even should you’re going with the safer possibility of resetting with out shedding information, it’s nonetheless a good suggestion to again up every part for peace of thoughts. Also, be sure that your laptop computer is linked to the ability supply and you’ve got an web connection.
